Japan · JET Programme

To all 2017 JET Interview Applicants

Interview results for the 2017 JET Programme intake are slowly starting to make their way around the globe.

It may be a while before some countries receive those results, but in the meantime, I just want to give my heartfelt congratulations to all those 2017 applicants who have been (or will be) shortlisted!

And a special shout out to all the South African shortlisters who found out their results today!

Congratulations! おめでとうございます! (source: “Jinrui wa suitai shimashita” anime)

To all those who are alternates. To be totally honest with you I know that this position is sometimes deemed worse than being rejected as you never know if, or when, you’ll be upgraded. Some alternates wait it out until applications open again at the end of the year and reapply, whereas others cannot sit in limbo for that long and instead go through a different programme, such as Interac, or through a private application such as those found on GajinPot.

It’s difficult to remain positive, especially if your year was planned around going to Japan, but do remember that there is a chance to be upgraded – and many JETs I met in Japan were once alternates – so hang in there!

To those whose applications were rejected. It’s a hard time to go through if you made it to the interview stage only to be rejected. But if you are determined to teach in Japan through the JET Programme, then you can work on and improve your application for next year by doing things like gaining some teaching experience, studying a TEFL course, learning Japanese, and so on.

Do your best! 頑張って!

To the shortlisters and alternates and aspiring applicants: If there is anything on my blog that I haven’t covered regarding pre-departure, Japan, JET, you name it – then feel free to leave a comment below or contact me directly with what would like me to write about and I’ll do my best to create posts based on those suggestions.

Also, have a look at my JET Resource Page for a full list of all the posts I have written over the years regarding the programme.

And lastly, if you know of anyone who might enjoy my blog, or find its content useful, then don’t forget to share – much appreciated! 🙂

3 thoughts on “To all 2017 JET Interview Applicants

  1. Hi Thea thank’s for a great informative Blog. I plan on applying for the 2018 intake but I have never traveled out side of South Africa before i wonder if that would be a disadvantage

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sanele, thanks for the comment. 🙂

      I don’t think that would be a problem at all! I am sure there are many aspiring JETs out there who haven’t travelled outside their country when applying.

      I believe JET looks for people who are eager to share their culture and the English language with Japanese students, and have a desire to fully immerse themselves into an amazing culture – so if you have that then I’m sure not having travelled won’t be seen as a disadvantage. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

