Japan · Life in Japan

So Long and Thanks for all the Fish

My final week in Japan was spent partly in Tokyo and partly in Onomichi. While in Tokyo I made my way to the Tokyo Sky Tree (which I had never been to before) and headed to the Sumida Aquarium. The reason why I wanted to go there was because of a current exhibition called the Edo Goldfish Wonderland.

As you can guess it is all about goldfish and highlights the festivals of the Edo period.

I must say that I have never seen so many different types of goldfish in all my life. Some were easily recognisable ‘standard’ goldfish, but then there were ones I never knew existed!

There were many fish lanterns decorating the area. One area had them hanging in this corridor with fish on either side and the lanterns would gradually come on and dim down as you walked through.

At the end of the exhibition there is a cafe were you can order drinks and ice creams. To fit with the occasion I had their Goldfish Soda โ€“ a non-alcoholic drink (though switching the soda for champagne would have worked really well) that came in a plastic fish bowl filled with berries, peach slices, jelly, ice and soda. The best part is that you could take the bowl home with you, which is exactly what I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

The exhibition was quite fascinating and I thoroughly enjoyed spending my time looking at all the different types of goldfish. If you find yourself in Tokyo over the next month then I recommend stopping in at the aquarium and enjoying a fizzy goldfish bowl while watching the fish swim by. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Edo Goldfish Wonderland exhibition

Where: Sumida Aquarium, Tokyo Sky Tree, Oshiage, Tokyo

When: July 1st – September 30th

Time: 9am – 9pm

Website: Sumida Aquarium

xxx

An End To One Chapter and Onto The Next…

You have probably guessed it by now, but I am writing this from the comforts of my home in South Africa. I have officially completed my two-year contract on the JET Programme and will now move onto the next adventure in my life.

However, there are still a few things I wish to write about on this blog regarding Japan so do keep an eye out for those in the near future.

Additionally, I am around to help 2017 aspiring JETs with their application forms, essays, and interviews. September is usually the month when applications start becoming available, so I’ll be ready and waiting for your e-mails and queries!

And one last thing โ€“ thank you to all the readers who have been following me through my two-year Japan adventure, I really appreciate your support. ๐Ÿ˜€ โค

So long and thanks for all the fish!ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

2 thoughts on “So Long and Thanks for all the Fish

  1. Hey T. Congrats on safe completion (: ใŠใฎใฟใก ใฏ ใ‚ใ‹ใ‚Šใพใ›ใ‚“ใ€‚ใ‚ใกใ‚‰ใงใชใซใŠใ—ใพใ™ใŸใ‹ใ€‚don’t rush for next steps hey. Remember to enjoy life inbetween ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

