Japan · JET Programme · Life in Japan · School

Last Day, Sightseeing, Returning Home, and 2017 JET Applications

I realise it has been a while since I posted, but as you can imagine things have been a bit hectic here with packing up, getting my apartment ready for my successor, closing accounts, attending three school farewell parties, preparing farewell speeches…

Speaking of farewell speeches, mine fortunately went off without a hitch this morning during my official farewell ceremony at my base school – I was quite relieved that I got through the Japanese part without making a mistake.

Last Day of School

As you can guess today is my last day and soon my successor will be taking over the reins. 🙂

It has been a wonderful past couple of days with so many teachers and students giving me letters and small gifts. It’s really going to be hard leaving school, and Japan in general, but I am looking forward to the next chapter in my life.

Sightseeing and Returning Home

However, before I head on home I’ll be doing some sightseeing for the next two weeks. I am quite excited about being a free agent from tomorrow and doing whatever I please (ie: embracing the life of unemployment). 😀

So for at least the next month I won’t be posting anything (mainly because my internet access will be limited to free wi-fi when I can find it) – but do look forward to once I return home as I have many posts lined up that I want to share, including a belated post about my time in Tsuwano, my upcoming sightseeing adventure (which includes around Tokyo), and reflections, thoughts and advice to aspiring JETs about my time on the JET Programme over the past two years.

2017 JET Applications

Very soon after I return home the application forms for the 2017 intake of the JET Programme will become available.

As in the past, I am more than happy to answer any questions regarding the application and Statement of Purpose (SOP) essays – which I am always keen to proofread and offer suggestions.

The Show’s Not Over Yet!

As I mentioned, this is definitely not my last post. I absolutely love to write and share any helpful insights to life on the JET Programme and living in Japan. Even though my next post will be written from home in South Africa, I will continue to provide you with (hopefully) interesting content from my time and experiences in Japan.

As always, I am available to answer any questions through the comment section or through e-mail on my contact page. 🙂

Here’s to the next adventure!

Catch you all soon (and some Pokémon while I’m at it) 😉

The Final Official Onomichi Cat Count (from August 1st, 2014 to July 27th, 2016):  112

wall_of_cats_by_vinylcroissant-d9mjm0e

6 thoughts on “Last Day, Sightseeing, Returning Home, and 2017 JET Applications

    1. Normally it is around September, or the end of September into October, when the applications open. Just keep an eye on the embassy’s website and soon they will be updating it with the 2017 applications.
      Not long now! 😀

      Like

      1. They’re out Nova! These instructions though :/ “Write in block letters” and here I am wondering if I need to write entirely in capital letters :’D Oh well! And no space to fit anything in!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awesome news! I just had a quick look at the application form and I think for the first half you must definitely use block letters. But when it wants you to describe stuff, like ‘specific request for placement’, then you can write normally.
        Just make sure it is legible and in BLUE ink!
        If you have any uncertainty about the application (like writing in block letters for everything) just e-mail the embassy to double-check. 🙂

        And don’t forget that there is no rush to get your application in as soon as possible – they don’t do ‘first come, first serve’ – take your time, read the instructions carefully, and don’t rush the essay. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

