Japan · Life in Japan · Random

The Flavours of Spring

One of the many reasons that I love Japan is the amazing, and mostly weird, flavours they come up with for chocolates, chips, and drinks. A lot of these flavours run closely with the seasons, so for example you will find pumpkin-flavoured ice-creams around autumn, and banana-flavoured chips in summer.

Just recently Kit-Kat released their sake-flavoured Kit-Kat. It had such a tantalising aroma, and you could taste the sake – which wasn’t too overpowering so it was quite enjoyable. Unfortunately I cannot seem to find them in the conbinis any more – this tends to be common when a company releases a new flavour as they only come out for a limited time.

Chips!

When it comes to chips, there are some interesting flavours. I recently popped into the conbini and took some sneaky pictures of what is on the shelves:

Lobster bisque chips

20160212_163500
Prawn burger chips
Chocolate covered chips… those actually look quite yummy

Spring Flavours

Now that we’re slowly moving into spring (winter has taken its time leaving this year), a lot of sweets, desserts and drinks are sporting the sakura (cherry blossom) look. There are even sakura-coloured strawberries on sale, though looking at the price I will just continue to drool at them from a distance.

These special strawberries are selling for ¥1280 (about R175)

For me, what got me oo-ing and ahh-ing was the spring edition from Pepsi: Sakura-flavoured Pepsi!

It’s so pink!

I usually don’t drink Pepsi. But, this is cherry blossom Pepsi… how can you not buy something like this to try at least once?

I bought it at the conbini down the road from my school at lunch time today, but didn’t want to drink it at school (the pink kind of stood out like a beacon on my desk).

Side note: What I didn’t know until this evening was that this drink was only released today, so I am sure if I had bought it out to drink at school the teachers would of probably been quite interested to see it, maybe. 😉

Anyway, so for the remainder of the school hours I pondered as to what fizzy cherry blossoms would taste like. Fortunately I didn’t have to wait too long and I must say that it was quite delicious. At first all I could taste was the fizzy Pepsi cola flavour, but then after that died down I got a mouthful of cherry – it reminded me of the taste of cherry Fizz Pops (South Africans out there will know the taste I am talking about).

I think this is quite a promising start to the spring munchie season. Hopefully I can share more fantastic flavours with you soon. 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Flavours of Spring

      1. … and pink Pepsi, and wasabi, and one of those life sized pillows, and a ガンダム!! 😉

        Like

  1. so completely arb to read ^^ but happy and fun and enjoyable to see a little into your life, glad you keep on sharing in your fashion
    F

    Like

Leave a Reply

