Japan · Random · School

Merry Christmas!

It has been a busy 2 weeks recently. Last week I ended up doing 19 Christmas-themed lessons, and today I am writing to you from my home in South Africa. Yip, I flew south for the winter vacation and am now enjoying my holiday in the summer sun with my family. πŸ™‚

So Christmas is generally not celebrated in Japan, well, what I mean to say is that the 25th is not even a holiday, just a normal working day. However, you will see every shop decorated in red, green and gold, as well as Christmas music playing everywhere.

I asked my students what they do on Christmas day, and they replied: ‘Eat chicken, Christmas cake, and go on a date’.

That pretty much sums up Christmas in Japan. Eating a large bucket of KFC is the thing to do, to the point that you have to pre-order your bucket of chicken in advance from your local KFC as it will be sold out on the day.

At school, my JTEs wanted me to share with the students what Christmas was like back in South Africa. I had the foresight to take pictures of my Christmas last year with my family and had printed them out for my presentation. This seemed to go down really well with the students – being able to see what a ‘real’ Christmas looks like. They couldn’t believe I had a real Christmas tree inside my house!

My one class was with 6 third year students. Before we started the lesson they all surprised me with handmade Christmas cards! How adorable are these?!

In another class, the JTE had the students write me a Christmas card after I had finished the lesson. Here are a few that I received (click on the picture to enlarge).

Even though last week was really busy, I did thoroughly enjoy it and loved sharing my culture with the students and teachers. It is not often that I get a chance to share what life is like back home, so I really appreciated this chance to do it with so many students (as well as some classes that I normally never teach – hence the 19 lessons).

With that said, I do hope that you are enjoying the festive season wherever you are in the world. Merry Christmas!!

Official Onomichi Cat Count: 84

BcWkvv6CQAAaul-

P.S. Congratulations to all those aspiring JETs who have been granted interviews for next year. Well done! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

