Japan · JET Programme · Life in Japan

One Year Japanniversary!

Today officially marks one year since I arrived in Japan! I cannot believe how quickly time has flown by when I really think about it. I can still clearly remember that feeling of excitement and anticipation when I first arrived in Japan, along with that irrepressible heat and humidity…

Fortunately I have learnt to live with the heat now, though I admit I thoroughly look forward to my two-week visit back home to South Africa next month as it gives me a chance to escape Japan’s summer and enjoy the winter down south for a while.

Anyway, to mark the occasion I decided to draw one of my chibi characters at school today – ignoring the strange looks my desk-neighbour was giving me (though I think he’s used to my strange antics by now).

Today also marks the start of summer vacation – no classes! However, I am coaching students in the mornings for the English speech contest, but my afternoons are pretty free – time to let my creativity run wild! πŸ™‚

The air-conditioner in the staff room kept on blowing my chibi over… took me a few attempts to keep her upright.

And here’s a close-up…

Also, those of you who are regular readers of my blog may have noticed a change in the blog title today. I felt for the sake of consistency, now that I have officially lived in Japan for more than one year, I have changed the title from ‘A Year in Japan‘ to ‘A(nother) Year in Japan‘. What do you think, like it?

P.S. This is my 60th post on my blog! Another great milestone to add to the list! πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “One Year Japanniversary!

Leave a Reply

