Japan · Life in Japan

Kyoto: Part I

Over the Spring vacation my mom came over from South Africa to visit me. It was absolutely fantastic being able to spend some time with her and take her around to some of the big ‘must-see’s’ in Japan. One of the places we went to was the vibrant city of Kyoto.

Here are some pictures I took of our time there. 

I am sure the ‘meet’ is supposed to be ‘meat’.
The cherry blossoms were just starting to bloom. This particular one was alongside a well-known canal that runs through the old Geisha district, Gion.

This area was a very popular place to have wedding photos taken
The old Geisha district, Gion
There are ample opportunities in Kyoto to dress up in a kimono, especially if you are in the Gion district where you might even come across a real maiko or geiko (the two types of geisha’s). Here, a group of ladies (tourists) pose for the cameras.
Blossoms!
Enjoying the sunset while overlooking the canal
Kyoto seems to have so many parfait and waffle shops. This one was almost next door to our hotel. I had to take a picture of some of the parfaits on the menu… have a closer look (click to enlarge) and just imagine what a ‘fried pork cutlet’ parfait might taste like (o_o)
I decided to stick to the tried and tested and went for a banana and chocolate waffle… but wow, didn’t expect so much on one plate!
20150326_202258
This big baby costs about R5000 and is the ultimate creation in the parfait world. It’s crazy… seriously, it even comes with a whole pineapple! By the way, this is the plastic model version of the parfait… not the real deal, but it would look exactly like this if you ordered one.

And that’s all I have for today from Kyoto. I will have part two up shortly where we visited the Fox Shrine – you know, the one with all the red torii gates running up the mountain? So stay tuned for that post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Kyoto: Part I

  1. Ah, I am looking forward to your post on the Fushimi-Inari Shrine.

    I got so lost there, by deciding to go down a goat trail at the top, rather than going back down the stairs… haha. That’ll teach me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

